From Remedial Classes to Honor Society

by Triveni Sheshadri

Featured speaker Tiffany Tooley, an honor student who is working toward degrees in Human Development and Medical Anthropology, shared her inspirational story of hard work and persistence.

“The test that I took told me I was not smart enough to take college courses. My heart told me otherwise. I passed my remedial classes with flying colors,” Tooley told her cheering audience. “Whenever I got down I would always remember what my mother told me. She would say, “As long as you try your hardest, you shall never fail.”

The conference was also an opportunity to recognize fall graduates. Among them was Lorena Davies, a Human Development major.

“The event was a really fun way to present the research that we have been working on all semester,” Davies said. “It was a great way to celebrate all the hard work we have done together. As a graduate this fall, I felt honored to have attended the event and I thank Dr. Bigham for encouraging us to attend.”

The Nu Upsilon chapter of Kappa Omicron Nu was established in CSUSM in 2006. Membership is open to Human Development and Kinesiology majors with a GPA of at least 3.28 and who have completed 45 semester units. For more information, contact Elizabeth Bigham at ebigham@csusm.edu.

Leave a Reply

